Madlib - Medicine Show No. 5 - History Of The Loop Digga: 1990-2000 (Sky Blue Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

MadlibSKU: MBIN7000552.1

Sale price$29.99

Pickup available at Rock This Town Record (Gilbert, AZ)

Usually ready in 1 hour


Madlib - Medicine Show No. 5 - History Of The Loop Digga: 1990-2000 (Sky Blue Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

The Madlib Medicine Show series is a combination of Madlib's new hip-hop productions, remixes, beat tapes, and jazz, as well as mixtapes of funk, soul, Brazilian, psych, jazz and other undefined forms of music from the Beat Konducta's 4-ton stack of vinyl.

Back in the 90s, ‚Äúbeat tapes,‚ÄĚ as a Hip Hop producer‚Äôs demo-reel is now quaintly referred to, were literally that: cassette tapes of beats that a producer made either for himself, his friends, or for potential collaborators. As you can imagine, Madlib made a bunch of ‚Äėem in the days between his early productions for the Alkaholiks (circa ‚Äô92) and the release of his Quasimoto album (2000) ‚Äď after which he took a couple of years off of the beats to focus on making jazz music with his fictional five piece, Yesterdays New Quintet.

This collection of beats showcases the way that Madlib’s early Hip Hop demos were filtered out to his friends and associates and provides an opportunity for a unique view into Madlib’s working process: these beats, often freestyled on whatever machine he had at the ready, were picked up by rappers over a period of many years. Trainspotters will find it interesting that beats later destined for the likes of Wildchild and Percee P were made some years before those albums saw release.

This album is punctuated with a series of early solo-raps by Madlib and his Quasimoto alter ego and features the cadre known collectively as CDP ‚Äď those rappers who worked side by side with Madlib during the days of his Oxnard-based ‚ÄúCrate Diggas Palace‚ÄĚ studios.

Title: Medicine Show No. 5 - History Of The Loop Digga: 1990-2000
Artist: Madlib
Format: LP
Number of Discs: 2
Release Date: 7/1/2022
Label: Madlib Invazion
UPC: 989327000552
Genre: Rap/Hip Hop

Track List:

1 Warning (Intro)
2 Static Invazion
3 Stakeout
4 Rapper X Radio
5 Last Day's Music
6 Nothing From Nothing
7 Episode VII
8 Episode VIII
9 Episode IX
10 Episode X

1 Episode XI
2 Episode XII
3 Episode XIII
4 Episode XIV
5 Episode XV
6 Episode XVI
7 Episode XVII
8 Episode XVIII

1 Episode XIX
2 Episode XX
3 Further Adventures Of Walkman Flavor
4 Episode XXII
5 Episode XXIII
6 Episode XXIV
7 Episode XXV
8 Episode XXVI

1 EpisodeXXVII
2 Live From Outer Space
3 Real Days
4 C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 1
5 C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 2 & 3
6 C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 4
7 C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 5
8 C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 6

Our Reviews

How We Ship Vinyl

More cool vinyl

Recently viewed