Cowboy Junkies - Lay It Down (Vinyl)

Cowboy JunkiesSKU: LP-RGM-1571

Sale price$27.99

Pickup currently unavailable at Rock This Town Record (Gilbert, AZ)


Cowboy Junkies - Lay It Down (Vinyl)

Every Cowboy Junkies album is a sonic treat, full of gorgeous guitar tones from Michael Timmins, haunting vocals from Margo Timmins, and beautiful arrangements, and 1996’s Lay it Down is no exception. But there is one big difference between this album and its predecessors: it rocks! And pretty hard, too, particularly on the Crazy Horse-esque Canadian hit “A Common Disaster,” “Just Want to See,” and the Paisley Underground-style title track. The pared-down quartet line-up accounts for some of this tougher approach; but producer John Keane definitely shaped this album’s sound, lending these songs a palpable Athens, GA/R.E.M. vibe that transports the Junkies out of their customary Americana/alt-country territory into a more indie-rock feel. Lay It Down is a mature album, tackling complex themes (“Come Calling [His Song]” and “Come Calling [Her Song]” tackle the onset of Alzheimer’s from the perspective of an elderly afflicted couple) with the confidence of a band at the peak of its powers. It’s long-overdue for a release on LP, and we at Real Gone Music are proud to present it on pristine black vinyl inside a jacket and printed inner sleeve with lyrics. A great listen.

Title: Lay It Down
Artist: Cowboy Junkies
Format: LP
Release Date: 10/6/2023
Label: Real Gone Music
UPC: 848064015710
Genre: Rock

Track List:

A1. Something More Besides You
A2. A Common Disaster
A3. Lay It Down
A4. Hold On to Me
A5. Come Calling (His Song)
A6. Just Want to See
A7. Lonely Sinking Feeling

B1. Angel Mine
B2. Bea’s Song (River Song Trilogy: Part II)
B3. Musical Key
B4. Speaking Confidentially
B5. Come Calling (Her Song)
B6. Now I Know

            How We Ship Vinyl

            More cool vinyl

            Recently viewed