Etta James - At Last (Limited Edition Colored Vinyl With Bonus Tracks)

Etta JamesSKU: TWCJ6318347.1

Sale price$19.99

Pickup currently unavailable at Rock This Town Record (Gilbert, AZ)


Etta James - At Last (Limited Edition Colored Vinyl With Bonus Tracks)

Limited 180-gram colored vinyl LP pressing including six bonus tracks. "The question of whether Etta James became a pop singer, a jazz singer, or a blues singer needn't detain you long. She was all of those, as At Last bears out, and more besides. James touched on gospel, doo-wop and rhythm 'n' blues with equal facility. "Dance With Me, Henry" was a hit, but renamed "The Wallflower" and covered by Georgia Gibbs. Because James had a composition credit, it made her some money, but she didn't like to be bested. She made sure that the next time it would be her name on the label. "Penguin Guide to Jazz

"At Last!, her debut LP, made for the celebrated Chicago label Chess, certainly is one of her most memorable. It's impossible to not be moved by the power of her voice, beginning with the opening notes of "Anything to Say You're Mine". Every phrase, every word is attacked with energy that commands respect. But beware, this young woman (she was only 22 at the time) could also take on the sweetest forms of a melancholy ballad, such as "Stormy Weather", and manage to achieve tenderness. At Last! Is one of the key soul music albums of the early 1960s." Jazz Magazine ETTA JAMES, lead vocals; The Riley Hampton Orchestra. Arranged and conducted by Riley Hampton. Recorded in Chicago, Illinois, 1960 and 1961. Original sessions produced by Phil and Leonard Chess.

(*) Bonus tracks:

Title: At Last
Artist: Etta James
Format: LP Vinyl
Release Date: 7/9/2021
Label: 20th Cent Jazz Mast.
UPC: 8436563183478
Genre: Jazz

Track List:

-Side A-
A1 Anything To Say You’re Mine
A2 My Dearest Darling
A3 Trust In Me
A4 A Sunday Kind Of Love
A5 Tough Mary
A6 If I Can’t Have You (*)
A7 My Heart Cries (*)
A8 Next Door To The Blues (*)

-Side B-
B1 I Just Want To Make Love To You
B2 At Last
B3 All I Could Do Was Cry
B4 Stormy Weather
B5 Girl Of My Dreams
B6 Spoonful (*)
B7 It’s A Crying Shame (*)
B8 Something’s Got A Hold On Me (*)

    How We Ship Vinyl

    More cool vinyl

    Recently viewed