Phil Collins - The Singles (2xLP Vinyl)

Phil CollinsSKU: RHI567326.1

Sale price$36.99

Pickup currently unavailable at Rock This Town Record (Gilbert, AZ)


Phil Collins - The Singles (2xLP Vinyl)

Phil Collins certainly has enough hits to fill out a double-disc compilation -- in the U.K. he had 25 Top 40 singles and he reached the Billboard Top 40 21 times in the U.S., with many of them overlapping -- but the 2016 set The Singles doesn't march through these hits in chronological order.

Opening with "Easy Lover," his 1985 duet with Earth, Wind & Fire's Philip Bailey, this 33-track compilation happily hopscotches through the years. Such non-chronological sequencing does mean certain hits are saved for the greatest emotional impact -- naturally, "Take Me Home" closes out the proceedings -- but it also focuses attention on songs that weren't blockbusters, whether it's such meditative turn-of-the-'90s adult contemporary hits as "That's Just the Way It Is" or the brooding early single "Thru These Walls."

Ultimately, this forced perspective is why The Singles is something more than just a collection of big hits: it helps illustrate that Collins' solo catalog ran deeper than "In the Air Tonight," "You Can't Hurry Love," "Sussudio," "One More Night," "Against All Odds," and "Another Day in Paradise." ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Title: The Singles
Artist: Phil Collins
Format: LP
Number of Discs: 2
Release Date: 10/12/2018
Label: Rhino
UPC: 603497860272
Genre: Rock, Pop

Track List:

- Disc 1 -
1 In the Air Tonight (2015 Remastered)
2 I Missed Again (2015 Remastered)
3 You Can't Hurry Love (2016 Remastered)
4 Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now) [2016 Remastered]
5 Easy Lover - By Philip Bailey & Phil Collins

- Disc 2 -
1 Sussudio (2016 Remastered)
2 One More Night (2016 Remastered)
3 Separate Lives (Love Theme from White Nights) [2016 Remastered] - By Phil Collins and Marilyn Martin
4 A Groovy Kind of Love (2016 Remastered)
5 Two Hearts (2016 Remastered)

- Disc 3 -
1 Another Day in Paradise (2016 Remastered)
2 I Wish It Would Rain Down (2016 Remastered)
3 Something Happened on the Way to Heaven (2016 Remastered)
4 Do You Remember? (2016 Remastered)

- Disc 4 -
1 Both Sides of the Story (2015 Remastered)
2 Dance Into the Light (2016 Remastered)
3 True Colors (2016 Remastered)
4 Can't Stop Loving You (2016 Remastered)
5 (Love Is Like a) Heatwave (2016 Remastered)

        Our Reviews

        How We Ship Vinyl

        More cool vinyl

        Recently viewed