Various Artists - Whole Enchilada: The History of Desert Rock 1976-94 (Box Set)

Various ArtistsSKU: LNPD2064.1

Sale price$59.99

Pickup available at Rock This Town Record (Gilbert, AZ)

Usually ready in 1 hour


Various Artists - Whole Enchilada: The History of Desert Rock 1976-94 (Box Set)

Three vinyl LP pressing plus book. The painstakingly compiled collection is a veritable Tucson musical family tree, leading us from from the mid-1970s through the mid-1990s, from the swoony Bob Meighan Band and the honky tonk of the Dusty Chaps (both whom signed to major labels in the 1970's) to international indie giants Green On Red (Serfers), Howe Gelb and Giant Sandworms, Naked Prey, Al Perry and The Cattle, Desert Rock breakouts The Sidewinders, Yard Trauma, Black Sun Ensemble and many more. With varying styles covering honky tonk, power-pop, country and cow-punk, fusion, punk rock, eclectic and art-damaged, amped up bluegrass, blues and straight up sunbaked rock'n'roll, the album is full of pleasant surprises (unsung country great Ned Sutton, for example), collectible rarities, popular numbers and outright gems you'll wonder how you ever missed. Accompanying the three-record set is a 70-page companion book with rare photos, obscure histories and anecdotes, and dozens of biographical essays by many of the artists themselves and others by named writers, journalists, photographers and deejays, placing the reader centerstage at Desert Rock's halcyon days.

Title: Whole Enchilada: The History of Desert Rock 1976-94
Artist: Various Artists
Format: Vinyl LP
Number of Discs: 4
Release Date: 5/27/2022
Label: Lion Productions
UPC: 608097206420
Genre: Rock, Country

Track List:

A1 Ned Sutton– The Real Me 2:35
A2 Chuck Wagon & The Wheels– Sonoran Bust 3:22
A3 Bob Meighan And Central Air– Only Living Son 3:44
A4 Howe Gelb– Curtis Jon And Sue 5:02
A5 Los Lasers– Customs 4:32
B1 The Serfers– Green on Red 2:44
B2 The Pills– DC-10 2:43
B3 Phantom Limbs– Suicide 5:07
B4 Giant Sandworms– Don't Turn Away 3:40
B5 The Pedestrians (3)– Elevator 3:50
C1 The Dusty Chaps– Heat Stroke 2:26
C2 Rainer– Helping Hand 2:54
C3 Giant Sandworms– Cross of Wood 4:13
C4 Jonny Sevin– She's Nobody's Friend 2:39
C5 Chris Burroughs And The Nationals– Last Call 2:39
C6 IF (31)– The Light 4:00
D1 Naked Prey– No Place To Be 3:35
D2 Al Perry And The Cattle– El Dio 1:24
D3 Suzie Caruze And The Bandeliers– We Can Laugh 3:05
D4 Fish Karma– Sunnyslope 4:40
D5 The Freds (3)– Too Scared 2:47
D6 Yard Trauma– No Conclusions 3:02
E1 Sidewinders (2)– I'm Not With You Anymore 4:28
E2 River Roses– Last Light 5:31
E3 The Host (8)– Easter Sunday 5:33
E4 Black Sun Ensemble– Blues For Rainer In C Minor 3:33
F1 The New Drakes– Later On 3:58
F2 Brilliant Fools– Responsible 3:03
F3 Stefan George (2)– I Ain't Afraid 2:37
F4 Gila Bend– Steak House 4:07
F5 Brain Damage Orchestra– Time On My Hands 5:26
G1 Howe Gelb– Real Love
H1 George Hawke– I Am Not Shy

Our Reviews

How We Ship Vinyl

More cool vinyl

Recently viewed